Canary Seed Development Commission of Saskatchewan


July 30, 2018

Nominations open for CSDCS director
Nomination deadline – October 19, 2018 at noon

Nominations are being accepted for four director positions on the Canary Seed Development Commission of Saskatchewan (CSDCS).

Directors serve a three-year term and are eligible for re-election for one further term. The CSDCS board consists of seven elected directors who represent all Saskatchewan canary seed producers and direct the operations and programs of the CSDCS.

Two of the four vacancies will replace directors who have served two consecutive terms and are not eligible to run again.

Directors are not paid a salary; however, they do receive a per diem for the actual days spent on CSDCS business. Expenses are also reimbursed. CSDCS Directors attend approximately five regular board meetings per year and are sometimes called upon to represent the CSDCS at meetings and major conferences that help shape the canary seed industry. The total time commitment is typically fewer than six days per year.

To stand for office, nominate, or vote, a person must be a registered producer with the CSDCS. A registered canary seed producer is any producer who has had a Saskatchewan canary seed levy deducted in the last three years, and who has not requested a refund in the last year of levy payment. All producers selling Saskatchewan-grown canary seed to registered buyers are automatically registered with the CSDCS.

A registered producer that is a corporation, association, society, farming partnership, producer who has sold jointly with another individual or individuals, or any designation other than an individual, is entitled to nominate, vote and hold office through a designated representative who has been appointed in writing. Completion of a Designated Voting Representative Form is required.

Nomination forms as well as Designated Voting Representative forms are available from the CSDCS office, telephone: 306.975.6624.  Forms are also posted below:

Completed forms must be received by the Returning Officer no later than 12:00 p.m. (noon) on Friday, October 19, 2018. Forms need to be signed by three registered canary seed producers. You may want four or five signatures in case someone who signs isn't actually registered. It’s also a good idea to send forms in well before the deadline so any issues can be addressed.

The Returning Officer’s contact information including email, fax and phone number are included on the nomination form and completed nominations may be submitted by mail, email or fax.

An election (if required) will be held by mail in as well as electronic ballot. New directors officially assume their position after the Annual General Meeting, which will be held in Saskatoon, SK, January 14, 2019.

< Back to News Index